The Big Ten Conference won't be playing football this fall because of concerns about COVID-19.

The move comes six day after the conference that includes Minnesota, Iowa, Wisconsin, Ohio State, Michigan, Michigan State, Purdue, Northwestern, Rutgers, Maryland, Indiana, Illinois, Nebraska and Penn State had released a revised conference-only schedule that it hoped would help it navigate a fall season with potential COVID-19 disruptions.

The Pac-12 has made the same announcement, taking two of college football’s five power conferences out of a crumbling season amid the pandemic.

The Pac-12 decision includes USC, UCLA, Oregon, Oregon State, Stanford, California, Arizona, Arizona State, Colorado, Washington, Washington State, and Utah.

The Big Ten's announcement that it was postponing all fall sports and hoping to make them up in the second semester came first. An hour later, the Pac-12 called a news conference to say that all sports in its conference would be paused until January 1st, including basketball.

The Atlantic Coast Conference, Big 12 and Southeastern Conference are still moving forward with plans to conduct a football season.

Bucket List Minnesota Glamping in a Lakeside Covered Wagon


More From 98.1 Minnesota's New Country