UNDATED -- Three area teachers have been nominated for the 2017 Teacher of the Year award.

Alex Jurek of Becker, Karrie Fredrickson of ss, and Cory Zimpel of Sauk Rapids-Rice are the area nominees.

Fredrickson has been teaching Social Studies at Sartell-St. Stephen for over 22 years. She also advises the student council, and Minnesota Honors Society.

Jurek is the Industrial Tech teacher and Varsity Soccer Coach at Becker High School. Principal Sandy Logrono says he ignites passion for learning and prepares students to be college and career ready.

Cory Zimple of Sauk Rapids-Rice is the final area nominee. He is the Technology and Digital Photography teacher and has been teaching for 18 years.

This years award marks the 53rd time it has been given. There are 132 nominees in this years' running.

The 2017 Teacher of the Year will be announced Sunday, May 7th.

More From 98.1 Minnesota's New Country