Minnesota’s School Bus Law, What You Need To Know
School is starting up again and soon the kids will be heading back to school on the yellow school bus. It's important to remember what Minnesota's laws are when it comes to stopping for the buses.
When children are entering or exiting the bus and the stop sign is extended, drivers MUST stop at least 20 feet away from the bus. Drivers aren't allowed to move until the stop sign is no longer extended and the bus's red lights are no longer flashing.
You're also not allowed to pass a school bus on the right-hand side when the bus is flashing their pre-warning lights. If you don't stop for the school bus you're guilty of a misdemeanor which also comes with a recently increased $500 fine.
There's one exception to this rule. According to Minnesota's school bus law, "A person driving a vehicle on a street or highway with separated roadways is not required to stop the vehicle when approaching or meeting a school bus that is on a different roadway."
Police officers can also arrest you within four hours of you failing to stop for a school bus if they have probable cause to do so. Be careful who you loan your car to. Owners and lessees of vehicles are also liable for violations even if they weren't the ones driving the vehicle at the time.
Be careful out there, watch for students and stop for buses!