Click It Or Ticket Campaign is Back In Minnesota
Local law enforcement and the Minnesota State Patrol started a new campaign yesterday for 'click it or ticket' and they've amp'd up 300+ more police to make it a success.
What does that mean for you? You better be wearing your seat belt!
Through October 30th, there will be more law enforcement on the roads looking carefully at the shoulder strap on you when you pass by them. You can guarantee that it's not only the seat belt tickets they're waiting to write-up...texting while driving, DWI's, speeding and whatever else they find WILL cost you. With that many more patrols on the road, it's time you watch your P's & Q's.
According to the MN Department of Safety website, this is the seat belt law:
Minnesota’s seat belt law is a primary offense, meaning drivers and passengers in all seating positions — including in the backseat — must be buckled up or in the correct child restraint.
Law enforcement will stop and ticket unbelted drivers or passengers. A seat belt ticket is $25 but can cost more than $100 with fees.
Drivers will be ticketed for unbelted passengers ages 14 and younger. Unbelted passengers age 15 and older will be ticketed directly.